Depopulation in politics The Hague: who is left now that all the figureheads are gone? Related Articles

After the cabinet fell, several politicians announced they would not return to the House of Representatives. Departing Prime Minister Mark Rutte was one of the first to pull the plug on his prime ministerial career by making himself no longer available as party leader for the VVD. But he is certainly not alone.

Wopke Hoekstra, outgoing Foreign Minister, Carola Schouten, outgoing Minister for Poverty Policy, Participation and Pensions, Sigrid Kaag, outgoing Finance Minister, and outgoing Prime Minister Mark Rutte. (ANP/ANP)

The outgoing Minister of Justice and Security, Dilan Yesilgöz, has already signaled as a potential successor to Rutte. According to the VVD, she has proposed herself as party leader. This choice is widely supported within the VVD party. Group president Sophie Hermans, for example, called it “tough” and “stand up if necessary.” Hermans does not run for election, the deputy André Bosman tries to become the party leader.

musical scales

The VVD isn’t the only party where musical chairs take place, so D66 leader Sigrid Kaag has also decided to announce her departure. As a reason, she gave the threats she faces as a politician. Kaag’s family had previously asked her to consider her position and the safety of her family was instrumental in her decision.

Fellow party member and current outgoing climate and energy minister, Rob Jetten, has now stood as a candidate for the party’s leadership. Jetten also indicates that he doesn’t rule out the possibility that he too could become prime minister. Jan Paternotte, the current chairman of the D66 party, has indicated that he is not aiming for the party’s leadership position.


Party leader Wopke Hoekstra has indicated to the CDA that he will not continue in his current post. And he is not the only one to leave the party, party chairman Pieter Heerma also resigns. In addition, Mona Keijzer, Hugo de Jonge, Marnix van Rij and Hanke Bruins Slot have also stated that they will not fill the role of Hoekstra. The latter two have also indicated that they do not need a new mandate in The Hague. Like the outgoing agriculture minister, Piet Adema, they will not return.

And the list of departing politicians can be supplemented by interim minister Carola Schouten of Poverty, Participation and Pensions (CU) policies. Schouten will also not appear in the new cabinet, as she will not be on the ChristenUnie list in the parliamentary elections. Current CU party leader Mirjam Bikker is one of the few politicians who has not yet said a definitive no to a new stint as party leader.

Left Collaboration

Several changes are also taking place on the left flank. For example, Attje Kuiken (PvdA) and Jesse Klaver (GroenLinks) are side by side and intensive cooperation between the two parties in the new elections cannot be ruled out. However, which of the two will pull the chariot in that case has not yet been determined. In a referendum between members of both parties, it will now first be determined whether PvdA and GroenLinks actually participate in the elections together. The elections will be held on November 22.

Author: Myrtle Koopman
Source: BNR


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Hot Topics

Related Articles